Sticking With Your Main Idea

Last month’s post talked about figuring out what to write. Once you’ve got an idea in your head, it isn’t always easy to stop having ideas, even though you’ve already chosen one. Many people will tell you to record those ideas, because you never know what could be useful later, then continue on with your current one. But what happens when you like the new idea better?

First, ask yourself why you like it better. What about that new idea is catching your attention in a way the current one didn’t? Maybe you like the characters or the setting better. But if the only reason is that it’s new and different, then write it down, remind yourself you made a commitment to the current idea, and keep going. If you can, find a way to add those bits you liked about the new idea to the current one.

Second, remember that you’re in the weeds on your current idea. Writing always seems hard when you’re doing it, but easier when you’re starting out or finished. As I work on my current novel, I’ve been rereading Girl in Red, and enjoying it more than writing the new work. Fortunately, I still remember what it was like writing Girl in Red, and it was a lot like this. It’s like looking at the rain forest. It’s pretty when you’re far away, but once you go inside, it’s muggy, there are bugs bigger than your head everywhere, everything’s trying to kill you, and your water bottle ran out an hour ago. Once you get to the other side, you can look back and laugh about it later, but you’ve got to press on. If you stop at every turn and think that another path looks better, you’ll only end up walking in circles.

Finally, if you absolutely hate the idea you’ve got, and everything else looks more interesting to you, take a break. I got burned out writing Girl in Red more times than I can count. I remember a time, about a year before I finished it, asking myself “What will it feel like to have it finished?” It brought me down when I realized the answer would be relieved. I got burned out on it, and after a time, I reminded myself that I had committed myself to seven years at Hogwarts, so I started writing again. It can be hard to take a break when you’re working on something, because sometimes, it feels like you’ve given up, but you’ve got to let yourself have a break. If you don’t, you’ll end up with a bad final product, and that feels even worse.

It can be hard to stick with your main idea. I often had to put Girl in Red down, as I’m trying to do now with my current work. It paid off in the end, and I’m hoping to remind myself of that once more.

#Essay #Planning

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA