The Story Behind Back to Those Days

When I was a kid, I loved the show Beast Wars, a continuation of The Transformers TV series. Despite having seen only a handful of the episodes, I collected a bunch of the toys. Along with LEGO and superheroes, they were what I played with the most, even though at first, I kept having my brother help transform them.

Recently, I read a webcomic called Dumbing of Age (warning: not for younger audiences), a webcomic about, among other things, college. The author is a big fan of Beast Wars, and it comes up a lot. Every time it did, it made me think a little of how much I loved it growing up.

Finally, I decided to dig out my old toys from my parents’ house. They were quite dusty from not having been taken out in years, and the joints were a little stiff. I could remember how to transform some of them, but I had to look up the others (fortunately, I have the Internet for that).

As I played with them more, the memories of those times came back to me. The depression and stress that have become so constant washed away, and for a little while, I could be a kid again. No deadlines. No anxiety. Just me and my toys.

I wrote Back to Those Days thinking of all of that. Celebrating the brief return to those days, opening up the box of memories and smiling again. And reminding myself that every now and then, it’s good to drift back to happier times.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA