The Story Behind Deep Down

Despite having written hundreds of poems, I don't read a lot of poetry. I rarely find anyone that writes the same subjects as I do, that is encouragement, hope, etc. Instead, many other writers tend to focus on darkness, turning their pain and suffering into poetry. While it can still be beautiful, it's not what I want to read, nor is it what I want to write. I don't want to drain other people of their happiness and leave them feeling empty.

But life isn't always like that. People aren't always like that. Sometimes, it's important to remember that people are still suffering. As uplifting as I try to make my poetry, and my work in general, I don't always feel that way. While that comes through in poems such as Lost in the Storm and Anxiety, most poems that get into the weeds tend to be more like the former than the latter: they start out dismal, and end up with some sort of encouraging or hopeful message.

Instead, I wanted to write something that didn't try to hide everything going on inside me. I knew it would end up dark, but that's what I was trying to write. And this time, I wasn't planning to accompany it with something light and happy, because, as I said earlier, life isn't always like that. And so I wrote Deep Down.

To anyone worried, know that I'm okay. Depression is something with which I've lived for a long time, and while you never entirely get used to it, I can still live with it. Not everyone can, and that's why I keep writing. Because I want to help other people that feel this way. And maybe together, we can all make it better.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA