The Story Behind Garden of Me

I've talked before about my struggles with depression, which goes hand in hand with my self-esteem issues. I often reflect back on my life, and I still see the times I leaned on other people too much.

For many years, I was unable to explain to other people why that was, nor to figure out how to fix it myself. Not only that, but it has been a constant struggle for me to overcome it, even for a moment.

This year, I've been doing work on my house, including weeding what was probably once a garden in my front yard. As many things do, it got me thinking.

The result of that was Garden of Me. While other people have raised me up, I never learned how to do so myself, something I've had to do over the past few years. In place of self-esteem, self-doubt grew, until it had taken root. Now, not only do I need to work on improving my self-esteem, I need to remove the weeds of self-doubt.

I'll keep working at it, until I've tended a beautiful garden.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA