The Story Behind Slice of Community

I’ve talked about Open Mic at Fairport Brewing Company before, and written a few poems about it. In 2019, I started bringing food with me, usually something I’d found at the farmer’s market. It started with blueberries, until they went out of season, then it turned into apple slices.

I didn’t keep them to myself. I’d offer some to anyone that wanted some, since I had more than I was going to eat. Every now and then I’d get takers, but I didn’t tend to move from my seat, as I’m not exactly a social butterfly.

During one writing workshop, we did an exercise where we described an object over and over again in ever more flowery ways. The goal was to get our imagination moving, to see an object differently. In this particular case, the object was an apple. The first thing that came to mind was sharing apple slices at Open Mic.

Later that day, I wrote Slice of Community based on that exercise. It was a nice little reminder of sharing something with my community, and a way to remember how nice my community can be. I know not everyone’s as lucky as I am, and I like taking the time to appreciate what I have. I hope other people will too.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA