The Story Behind The Power of Knowledge

I’ve always been considered one of the smart kids. I’ve always wanted to know more, and I believe that information should be free. At the same time, I can understand the appeal of ignorance. Especially when I see people deny the reality of the thing, because it’s too hard to face it.

I used to think that if I found the right argument, people would listen. Maybe that’s true, but not everyone wants to listen. It’s easier to think that your world works the way you think it does. When someone comes along and challenges that, it’s frightening.

When I started on the crest poem for knowledge, I tried to put these thoughts into words. It took several tries as I tried to understand what it was I was trying to say. Did I want to talk about information being freely available? Did I want to talk about the burden of people asking you “what’s the plan?” What was it I was trying to say?

In the end, I chose to talk about ignorance and knowledge. The dangers of too much knowledge, of telling people something they can’t handle. Wisdom and care must be used as well.

I put these thoughts into The Power of Knowledge. Knowledge gives you the key, but you still have to unlock the door and open it yourself. That’s its power.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA