The Story Behind The World of the Rain and Trees

I have always been a little odd. This makes itself obvious in many forms, but on this particular day in August 2019, it was pouring rain. While sitting in a cafe, what did I decide? “I’m going to go to the park”.

In my area, there’s a park called Highland Park. It’s beautiful at any time of year, and on this day, I decided I wanted to walk around in the rain. I found shelter under a tree, and began to think.

As I thought, a poem began to form. Thoughts of the rain, the trees, the flowers, everything swirled in my head, and under the branches of a tree, I wrote a poem.

That poem became The World of the Rain and Trees. I wrote of the comfort I found among those I know never judge me for being different. They offer me shelter and love, and ask for nothing in return. In my first years of college, whenever I’d get stressed out, I’d talk to the wind and trees. I found it relaxing to be away from people to clear my head.

People may call me odd, and I am. But I found a place of peace among the trees. When it’s raining, and no one else wants to be outside, that’s when I can be alone and at ease. I know that there’s always a place I can go to get away from the world when I need to. When life gets to be too much, it’s important that everyone can have a chance to get away from it for a while.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA