The Story Behind Find the Light

Crest #8: Light. I had the title in my head long before I started writing the poem. With it, I had some idea about what I wanted to write. After knowledge, sincerity, and reliability, I had one that spoke to me personally. In my life, I stare into the dark, wondering what happened to the light. That’s where I started.

I called up thoughts of hopelessness, those times when it was easier to let depression win. I thought about what I’d want to say to someone like that, someone like me, someone who thinks there’s nothing left.

There’s always a spark of light. Some piece of hope to guide us out of the dark. Something to live for, something to keep us moving forward. Those small memories that get buried under an avalanche of regret. It’s there, hiding in the dark. You just have to find it.

And so I wrote Find the Light, the last of the eight crest poems. It started with a poem about hope, and ended with a poem about the light. The things that keep us moving forward, no matter how bad things look. And things have been looking pretty bad. As we move out of the dark and back into the light, it’s important to look for the small sparks that help others move forward.

#StoryBehind

© 2023 Sky Starlight CC BY-NC-SA